The Temptations

Last week I was in some inescapable and unexpected situations that presented a multitude of food temptations, something I have been avoiding so as not to test my new-found willpower yet.  The thought struck me that had I not been on my current last-ever-diet-motivated-not-to-cheat-and-going-strong-for-over-9-weeks-lifestyle-change,  I would have eaten some, if not all, of the items on the following list over the course of a few short days:

Sweet potato fries

Cake (chocolate and lemon, two cakes – not combined)

Pumpkin muffin

Lemon bar (and a corner piece, extra tempting)

Molasses cookie

Pizza

Lasagna

Bagels (and there were many and they smelled so good)

Zucchini bread (homemade by my SIL)

Ghiradelli chocolate squares

And that was just the stuff that jumped out at me and waved itself in front of my nose.   Some of the food even passed through my hands as I packed it to-go for someone else.  Three slices of zucchini bread in a ziploc baggy with nary a nibble.  And those bagels that I bought for other people while drooling.

But I was strong and made healthy South Beach friendly choices:  I ate a chef salad, canned salmon, green beans, string cheese, colored peppers, frozen cauliflower in cheese sauce, apples with peanut butter, more cheese, and more green beans.  And some Triscuits:)

In each moment that I encountered the tempting off-plan food, I felt mixed emotions.  Some sense of loss and longing.  But also a sense of power and control.  And when the moment had passed, the power and control stayed with me and the loss and longing was (mostly) forgotten.  I could clearly picture the old me, spending the day around these foods and eating one, then another, then another.  Yes, in the moment I felt some mourning that I can’t yet eat just a little piece of home-baked goodness, but I know that I am not ready for moderation.  And I am so much happier NOT eating those carb-laden foods than I would have been indulging.  What a change!

12 Comments

Filed under dieting, emotions/emotional issues, food, low-carb/South Beach, making a change

12 responses to “The Temptations

  1. Don’t you hate the effect that eating those carb laden foods has on your body? It’s like you just want to crawl up on the couch and take a nap or something! 😦

  2. Anna

    Wow, I am so impressed! I would have been a goner with all that temptation around! Good for you for staying strong. How you feel NOT eating the tempting food is a million times better than eating it and regretting it or feeling guilty.

  3. sunnydaze

    I agree! The temptation only lasts for a little while but the wonderful feeling of resisting lingers. Good for you!

  4. Very good job. It’s such a victory to start to feel more in control of your choices. It took me a while to begin baking.

  5. I think I smell zucchini bread now…. I love that stuff!

    So glad you did so well.

    Also, thanks for the comments you leave on my blog ….I really appreciate it 🙂

  6. Oh. My stomach is twisting painfully as much as my head and heart are longing. It really is ridiculous how much I love food. Relationship. That is very apt for how I feel about food.

    But, you are doing very extremely well for being faced with all those wonderful scrumptious foods!

  7. Congrats on sticking with your food plan! Just keep building on days like that and you will continue to have success.

  8. congratulations!!!! You have sooooooooo much to be proud of! 😀

  9. I can totally relate to this. There are those foods that I just have to stay completely away from because I don’t trust myself to eat just a little!

  10. I am waiting for the day that I don’t think about that tempting stuff. I guess then it wouldn’t be “tempting.” Will that day ever come?

  11. Wow, good for you! I get those mixed emotions too thinking about how I used to eat.

I love comments!

