Farewell February

Goodbye February!  I’m glad to see you go.  Just four weeks ago I welcomed your arrival, eager to move closer to the end of winter, knowing that you would pass by in the blink of an eye.  And you did.

During our time together I focused on eating healthy and boosting my exercise.  I…

  • learned that oven-roasted tomatoes are as sweet as candy;
  • discovered that I can indeed roast frozen green beans and that if I cook them longer they crisp up and are actually quite yummy;
  • almost perfected a recipe for crockpot beans that is making my breakfasts fast and easy;
  • started jogging for short intervals on the treadmill;
  • lengthened the time I spend on the elliptical when I work out at home;
  • added cardio on what had previously been my non-cardio (yoga or strength training) days;
  • didn’t cheat on my diet even once!

I wonder, sweet February, if I can accomplish that in just 28 days, what can I do in a longer month?  And what will I have accomplished by summer?  By next year?  When we meet again, shortest of months, how changed will I be?  On the outside and on the inside?  Don’t lament our parting, dear February, but get your ass out of here so I can move on to spring already be happy for the time we shared.  As I am.

And join me in welcoming your successor – March.  In like a lion and out like a lamb.  Bearing gifts of springtime with (hopefully) warmer weather, blustery winds, and school vacation.  With blooming flowers and outdoor bike rides.  Bringing longer days.  With more food discoveries and exercise achievements.  Goodbye dear February, I am March-ing on.

11 Comments

Filed under dieting, exercise, holidays/seasons/weather, Uncategorized

11 responses to “Farewell February

  1. Great achievements! I too am glad to see February go. I’m so ready for Spring. Come on Spring!!!!

  2. 5kidswdisabilities

    Loved this post! I have to try the green bean recipe. I already LOVE tomatoes roasted in the oven…with a little mozzarella cheese and garlic! Yum!!!
    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

  3. Bobbie – I know – come on already, Spring.

    Lindsey – Here is how I made the green beans: I coated frozen green beans with olive oil and added some salt and pepper. (I used the skinny beans, not the short cut ones.) I put them on a sheet pan in a preheated oven at 400 degrees. Now the person who told me how to make them suggested cooking them for 20-25 minutes or until done. I have been cooking mine for closer to 30 minutes or longer until they are starting to brown and getting a bit crispy. I usually stir them midway through. Honestly they are so yummy this way I have made them for snacks and eaten them with my fingers!

  4. You made awesome progress this month! Keep up the great work :).

  5. I also want to just be done with the drearies. I’m ready for green shoots of stuff bursting out of the blah. I don’t want to feel tired by looking outside anymore.

    Great work this month though. Your staying completely on diet is AMAZING.

  6. You accomplished a LOT in February! Well done!

    Thanks for the green bean recipe. I’ll try it. After I get some skinny green beans. 🙂

  7. Thanks ladies. It is so much nicer to focus on stuff other than the number on the scale. It is going down, but ever sooooo slowly.

  8. Great job!! You definitely have accomplished a lot!

    I love green beans! I buy the frozen packages that come with yellow and green ones- they are SO GOOD!

    Now my tummy is grumbling for breakfast lol.

  9. You had an AMAZING, ground-breaking month!!!! I am sooooooooooo proud of you!!!! 😀

  10. Lexxiss

    Spectacular!!!

  11. What an awesome month! Congratulations. I love, love, love roasted vegetables. Haven’t tried frozen green beans yet, but I will. I’d like the crock pot bean recipe … I finally got my new crock pot (a delayed Christmas present) from Williams and Sonoma and am ready to try all sorts of new recipes.

I love comments!

