Soup’s On

I am so ready for winter to be over.  But I will miss eating soup, something I usually only do during the colder months or when I am feeling sick.  So while there are still some chilly (and chili) days left (for those of us not lucky enough to live in warm climates), I thought we might all enjoy a good pot of soup.

Share your favorite soup recipes!  I would say they should be healthy, but maybe not everyone who reads my blog cares about that:)

Here are some of the ones I love:

Broccoli Cheese Soup (From 3fatchicks.  South Beach friendly – all phases)

Ingredients
1 pound frozen winter-style veggies (broccoli and cauliflower)
1 1/2 cans low-sodium, fat-free chicken broth
1/2 10-ounce can of diced tomatoes or diced tomatoes with green chilies
4-5 ounces low-fat cream cheese, cubed

Instructions
Place the veggies, tomatoes, and broth in a large pot. Bring to a boil, then lower the heat and simmer for 40 minutes. Add the cheese and let it melt as you stir it. Mash up veggies or leave them whole.

Catherine’s Spicy Chicken Soup from allrecipes.com.  I only use half the chicken called for and low fat sour cream.  If you leave out the corn this is SB friendly for all phases.  Corn should be avoided or only eaten occasionally in PH2.  This soup freezes well.

Cabbage Beef Soup from allrecipes.com.  I never measure the cabbage, just add as much as I can fit in the crockpot.  Try it even if you don’t like cabbage – cut it small and you really won’t even taste it!   South Beach all phases.

Taco Soup – This one is very quick and easy and tastes even better the second day when the flavors sit.  Again, South Beachers need to watch the corn and may want to use an alternative to store-bought taco seasoning.

1/2 pound ground beef (your choice what % lean)

1/2 cup chopped onion

1 can chopped tomatoes or tomato soup (I use petite diced tomatoes)

1 small package frozen corn

1 can kidney beans or black beans (drained and rinsed)

2 cups water

1/2 package of taco seasoning

Brown the hamburger and onion, drain fat if desired.  Bring all the ingredients to a boil and then let simmer for a while.

Pull up a spoon!

14 Comments

Filed under food, holidays/seasons/weather

14 responses to “Soup’s On

  1. I’ve been eating a lot of soup this winter too. The taco soup looks yummy, I’m going to have to try that one.

    I don’t have any recipes, but the only time I’ve tried to make my own soup turned out pretty good. I just hodge-podged it and put in low sodium chicken broth, boullion cubes, chicken, celery, carrots, whole wheat pasta and it was quite good.

  2. jen

    I need some new soup recipes–so thanks! I definitely eat a lot of soup–very filling–and perfect for the cold weather. I have a Greek Lemon Chicken soup recipe that I love–will share soon.

  3. Yum, yum, yum…. I love all those soups. Plus they are great for freezing leftovers and eating later on when you are in need of a quick lunch or dinner!

  4. I like a bowl of soup now and then.

  5. Sunny

    sounds yummers!!! 🙂

  6. Made my mouth water. My kids (and hubby for that matter) are not big soup eaters, but every once in a while I make them suck-it-up and I make soup and sandwiches for dinner. A few keepers on that list – thanks 🙂

  7. Diet Buddy

    Taco soup? That sounds great!

  8. Oh yum- yeah I actually had some corn yesterday for dinner- it was yummy 🙂

  9. losingmore

    yummy soup ideas! I just found this one today for sausage gumbo…and want to give it a try…
    http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/sausage_gumbo.html

  10. That taco soup looks delish! Mexican food is my favorite so it’s a must that I try this one 🙂

  11. I am going to admit that I have even eaten soup for breakfast while I am on my “not eating grains in the morning” kick. Not the spicy ones, though, for some reason. I also remember some great soups from my Weight Watchers days… a good way to get in more veggies. Comfort food:)

  12. Oooh I could totally go for a bowl of taco soup!

    I too am ready for spring. I will miss the comfort food of winter though.

    But hey… bring on the grilled veggies and fresh fruit! 🙂 (for some reason I crave fruit a bunch in the summer)

    ~Kellie

  13. ohh the taco soup sounds great – we had oxtail soup this week – it is my mom’s specialty and it was great! i love soup on cold days.

I love comments!

