The Naked Truth

I don’t like being naked.  Except for the shower, of course.  But other than that, no Full Monty for me.

Where does this come from?  Is it because I didn’t have sisters growing up or play sports so didn’t find myself undressing in front of others?  Is it because I never seem satisfied with my body, even in my thin phases?  Is there some deep meaning behind feeling over-exposed, even when no one is around to see me?  I don’t think it matters – but it is interesting to speculate.

My husband seems very comfortable in his nakedness.  He does his morning routine in the buff:  shaves, brushes his teeth, maybe puts away his clean laundry.  Years ago he told me that Ben Franklin took a daily “air bath” because he thought it was good for his health.  Hmm.  The other day I asked DH to help me make our bed after he had just gotten out of the shower; he helped me in his birthday suit:)  I admire him for being so comfortable in his own skin… literally.

When I get out of the shower and dry off, I put on my ratty old robe and it stays on until it gets replaced with clothes.  And even then, now that I think about it, I don’t usually take of the robe, full naked while I get dressed.  I think I put on my underwear first, under the robe, at a minimum.

Now there is one big exception to my hesitance to be in the buff.  At the spa:)  When my mom and I first went several  years ago, we planned to sit in the whirlpool after we had taken water aerobics so we would already be in our swimsuits.  (The whirlpools are located inside the women’s locker room.)  It wasn’t until we lowered ourselves into the hot, swirling water that we realized that the other women already in there were naked!  For the first time in my life I was more embarrassed to be in my clothes than out of them!  Last spring we had our fifth trip to the spa planned.  It was in anticipation of this that I went on my “naked-in-the-hot-tub” diet; it was very motivating.  So I can say that I will gladly endure any emotional turmoil over my own nudity to enjoy the full spa experience.  And this includes taking it all off for massages too:)

What about you?  Are you comfortable being naked?  Is it weight related or not?  Does it matter if other people or a mirror are around?

20 Comments

Filed under body and/or body image, family

20 responses to “The Naked Truth

  1. Laura Jean

    Oooh, I think I’d keep my swim suit on in the spa. I avoid mirrors when in the buff too. Heck, I feel ‘exposed’ when I have a tank top on!

  2. LOL…only around my husband. It doesn’t bother me to be naked in front of him, but usually I’m too cold so even after the shower, I put clothes on asap!

    I would have probably left my swimsuit on at the spa… you are brave, girl!

  3. For me it has to do with how my mom and dad behaved while I was growing up. I never saw either of them naked. I never saw their skin on their torsos. EVER.

    I’m a little weird still.

  4. Jenn

    I couldn’t read past the fact that your husband puts away clean laundry!!!!!!!

    I am not comfortable around nakedness. I think a lot of it is how I grew up – to be ashamed of it. I could never get undressed in a locker-room! Plus, I always wonder what people are thinking of me etc…

  5. You gals crack me up. Thanks for brightening my day:)

  6. I love being naked lol!

    If it’s just me and hubby no clothes- even my pets have seen me naked! lol. They probably wonder what happened to my feathers!

  7. Ug I hit tab and enter by accident lol.

    What I wanted to say was that I think in our first apartment hubby and I treated the next door motel to a lot of peep shows lol. We’d basically get home and be naked most of the time. And one day walking into the living room I noticed that I could see the windows/balcony of the motel very easily lol. I just shrugged and was like oh well!

    I guess for me I notice the good parts of my body and even though I have a pooch up front I guess I’ve embraced my body 🙂 I think what helps is hubby always tells me how beautiful and soft my skin is 🙂

  8. I can go either way on being naked. There are days when I do not want to be naked for nothing because I feel like crap. Other times, I can walk around after my shower getting ready without any thought that I have no clothes on. I am getting better about it but there were times when I hated it.

  9. Sunny

    Love being naked. Sleep that way. That’s why god created electric blankets. LOL

  10. It’s hard being naked when you are overweight and not excited about the way your body looks.

    When I lost weight the first time, I met a woman who also lost a lot of weight. She said she would eat in the nude and it would make her not want to eat as much.

    Maybe there’s something to that? I don’t think my kids would appreciate it if I did that… but then I don’t think she had kids at the time.

    ~Kellie

  11. Diet Buddy

    I’m horribly uncomfortable now that I have 30 extra pounds on me. I hate to be naked. That didn’t used to be the case and I’d love to feel the freedom of getting out of the shower and not hurrying to cover up before I see my reflection in the mirror!

  12. I can’t say I hate it, but I can’t say I am really comfortable either. I stay naked out of the shower long enough to put on my lotion. However this is mainly because I am freezing when I get out of the shower. I think I just don’t care. I don’t think I will be going to a nude beach anytime soon, but at the same time I am not embarrassed to change at the gym. I guess I am just ambivalent.

  13. I have always thought I’d do something like the lady Kellie knows – have to look at myself naked in the mirror before I eat anything! Haven’t ever done it. Probably never will. But I think it would be a great diet aid.

    And nope, I don’t like to sleep naked either:(

  14. Well, I don’t go as far as Sunny and sleep naked, but I don’t mind being naked. Didn’t mind even at my heaviest. I guess I never really thought much about it.

  15. Interesting topic…and my answer is yes…i’m comfortable in my own skin…not in front of strangers, but with myself…my bf…

    I think we just have to love ourselves and accept the fact that we are loved by others as well.

  16. I can relate to this post! My husband walks around naked all of the time. It must be a “guy” thing or something! LOL

    I started looking at myself in the mirror before I hop in the shower every morning. It was hard at first, but now I’m starting to notice differences (good ones) so that’s helping. 🙂

  17. I’m okay being naked … only when I’m alone. Lots of crap from my childhood contributes to that. I wish I could be more comfortable about it.

  18. I am pretty comfortable being naked. In front of strangers eh not so much. I don’t think it has anything to do with me not liking my body because I will walk around in a bathing suit with no problem.

    Around my house I am always in shorts and a tshirt. My sons strip down to their undies as soon as they come in and neither have problems being naked around me or my husband.

    My mother was not a shy woman. Actually neither was my grandmother . I think that contributes to the fact that I am more comfortable with my nakedness.

  19. So my new theory is it has a lot to do with how we were raised. I’d blame my mother but since she is the one who treats me to the spa… I think I will just thank her instead:)

  20. Pingback: Waisting Time , Archive » Spaaaaaaah

I love comments!

