Where Everybody Knows Your name

Last week we had a substitute instructor for cycling class.  I thought she was being polite when she asked me my name.  I was wrong!

A few minutes into class we hit a challenging stretch (of pedaling fast while standing) and the chatty instructor said, “Good job Karen.”  I looked up.  Did I hear her correctly?  I looked over at my hubby on the bike next to me; he seemed oblivious.  Maybe I heard wrong.  No.  Next she called out to Mandy.  I have been in class with Mandy for months and never knew that was her name!  Allison.  Leslie.  The cycling substitute had memorized all our names and was calling on us in class!  Flashback to school days.

Then she mentions me again.  And again.  Yikes!  I am no longer an anonymous face in a sea of red, sweaty faces.  I can’t slack off.  Someone is actually paying attention and I can’t pretend otherwise.  I hated it!  It meant I had to work harder.  Wait – maybe that is actually a good thing:)  By the end of what might very well have been my most challenging cycling workout ever, I felt tired, but in a very good way.  My butt had been good and surely kicked.  So while I would hate it if my regular instructors started doing the same thing, maybe it would be good for my workout.

Thank you, Rebecca.  I think.

13 Comments

Filed under exercise, influence of others

13 responses to “Where Everybody Knows Your name

  1. This does sound like a good and bad thing! It makes you work harder, but also puts you under a lot more pressure!

    Good job on the extra tough workout though!

  2. I was taking a Body Pump class. The instructor starts talking to me from the platform through her LOUD microphone. I seriously wanted to crawl under something. I thought…don’t you know chubby people are supposed to be invisible. We have the special little shield that makes you not see us. Dang, I thought I was invisible; shatter my illusion in one swift motion!! Thanks Ms. Super Fit Instructor Lady!!

  3. Sounds a bit like Cheers!
    Where everybody knows your name…

  4. Man, I don’t know how I would feel about that. I am always uncomfortable when called upon in a social setting.

    But it looks like you are doing a great job in class! Especially if the teacher noticed you! 🙂

    Keep up the great work!!

    ~Kellie

  5. ha ha!!!! Great post. I know sometimes I really have a hard time doing things if I have an audience or if someone notices what I’m doing or how I’m doing it.

    I really would like to take up a spinning class but I don’t know of any in my area. Maybe I need to investigate that a little further. Sounds like you really enjoy your class! 🙂

  6. Thanks for the comments:)

    And “Merry” – that was exactly where I got my title! I grew up in Boston and always watched that show:)

  7. Siobhan

    I think I’d be self-conscious now and rather not be called out, but if I was doing awesome I’d totally like somebody to notice.

  8. Siobhan

    It worked (my comment) this time!

  9. Hey well good job! Oblivious husbands seem to be the norm lol 😉

  10. Siobhan – so glad it worked. I tried to search for a solution and couldn’t find one. Hmm.

    Beerab – that cracked me up.

    Teena – Yes she was. AND – she can talk and ride at the same time!

  11. Yikes! She called you out? She’s good…. 🙂

  12. Too funny!!!! (re your “I think” re Rebecca.) 😉

I love comments!

