Cataloging my Emotions

I got a new spring clothing catalog in the mail recently.  Last month I would have immediately tossed the catalog into the recycling bin; no clothes in that size, thank you very much.  The new me, deeply entrenched in weight loss and motivation, perused the pages.

I admit that I really only looked closely at the tops.  But I really looked – thinking about which I might buy when the weather warms up.  And while I didn’t consider pants, yet, I knew in my heart that the day was coming when I would be going shopping for those too!  While my reaction to a catalog may not seem like much, I recognized it for exactly what it was – belief in myself that I would indeed reach my goal weight and stay there this time:)

And when I have been at goal long enough to know my size is stable, I am going to treat myself to some kick-ass expensive designer jeans!  (Sorry DH.)

What item of clothing are you most looking forward to buying when you reach your goal?  (Or if you are already there, what did you first rush to buy?)

11 Comments

Filed under clothing, emotions/emotional issues, shopping

11 responses to “Cataloging my Emotions

  1. A sexy, sexy dress that shows off all of my new-found assets. 🙂

  2. Sunny

    a sexy black leather jacket. 🙂

    p.s. here’s my new url:

    http://thesunnylife.com/

  3. Oh my goodness, it’s so hard to think of any one item I’d like to buy, but I really want a nice, snug, pair of jeans that hug me in all the right places. Maybe a lower ride style. That’s what I’m looking forward too!

    But you know I’d be happy to just wear anything in style and not look ridiculous. 🙂

  4. I lost all my weight 2 summers ago…all 150+ lbs…then I put 50+ back on!! Gag me…

    Anyhow, I went out and bought jeans and a bunch of little knit dresses. Now they hang in my closet waiting to be worn again….

  5. Giving away all my big girl clothes had a profound effect on me, and I vowed to never again have that many clothes. Oh, the irony…finally able to shop anywhere, but not wanting anything other than a couple pairs of jeans that make my butt look cute. 🙂

  6. DRESSES! I see my sister looking so beautiful in dress after dress and I envy her! Of course I’m happy for her but I’d like to wear a dress now and then also!

  7. Except for Sunny, jeans and dresses seem to top the list. We will all look fabulous!

  8. Laura Jean

    I’d buy a bathing suit without a skirt attached. If I’m feeling frisky and weigh 150 lbs, maybe a two peice.

  9. I really wanted to be able to wear a sleeveless sundress. It was a great day when I could. Congratulations to you and your accomplishments. Watch out your DH for those expensive jeans – the time will be here before you know it!

  10. I’ve never bought clothes from a catalog. I don’t trust the sizing.

    Alas, I have lots of clothes that are too small for me that I am looking forward to “growing” back into.

  11. Laura – I like the skirts, even in my thin days. Because I sure do feel self-conscious with my saddle bags. And I haven’t worn a two-piece since high school!

    Diane – Maybe he isn’t too worried because he knows I am so cheap I may never pull the trigger and buy them:(

    Teena – I actually never buy from catalogs either. This one was for a store so I would eventually go to the mall to find the items. Or maybe order them if I can return them locally. My mom orders from catalogs all the time and it works for her but I can never judge the fit. Especially bottoms.

I love comments!

