Your Own Groundhog Day

In the 1993 movie Groundhog Day, the main character gets to relive that one day over and over again.  Initially he takes advantage of the situation, but eventually he begins to reexamine his life and priorities.  And the movie ends happily ever after. 

What would you change if you could go back to any one day in the past and do things differently?  Would you play the lottery knowing which numbers would win?  Or buy stock that you knew would make you rich?  Or would you choose to take the chance that you passed up, be it a blind date or a job offer or new class at the gym or something else?  Would you refrain from eating the piece of decadent cake that sent you on a month-long binge?  Would you choose your most embarrassing moment and ensure it never happens?  Would you use the opportunity for personal gain or personal growth, like the character in the movie?  Is there something you would do over – or nothing?

Sometimes I imagine how my life could have been if I had done things differently.  For example, I know now that I did not choose a great college for myself.  But if I went somewhere else I might not have gone to grad school where and when I did and then never have met my husband and had my kids and… well, you get the picture.  And if only I didn’t go to the lake last July 4th I wouldn’t have gone off my diet and started the long slippery slope of weight gain.  I might do that day over!  But then maybe I would never have felt the desperation that led me to blog, which has become such a fun part of my life.  However, I sure do think I could go back and buy some stock in Google or Apple or some other technology company that I now know about.  But then again, what would be different in my life if I had made all that money?

I need some more time to think this over.  Life isn’t perfect, but it sure is pretty darn good, all things considered.  Maybe I wouldn’t change a single day.  (Now give me a chance to do over a longer period of time and that might be another story altogether.)

How about you?

12 Comments

Filed under holidays/seasons/weather, making a change

12 responses to “Your Own Groundhog Day

  1. There are things I think I would change, but when I seriously consider it, all the choices I’ve made (good and bad) have led me to this point in my life, which I consider pretty darn good at the moment! So it’s hard for me to regret those choices.

  2. Sunny

    One thing I would change is so personal, I’m sorry, I just can’t reveal it. But it’s been bothering me more and more lately. It’s so life altering, I’m not sure I can face it. I think in some respects, this getting healthy change does make us look more closely at all aspects of our life that are less than ideal. The thing is, though, is ideal always possible? Sure, it’s a goal, but is it realistic? Are some things best left at just “really good”, albiet not perfect?

    I know. Deep stuff. 😉

  3. nope, wouldn’t change a single thing…even the not so good stuff….I am a firm believer that everything happens for a reason and its all interconnected…therefore, if I change the bad stuff, I might miss out on something really great that happens along later. 🙂

  4. waistingtime

    Interesting that so many people think things happen for a reason or are interconnected or are jut fine the way they are. That’s good, I think:)

  5. Jenn

    I don’t think I’d even bother going back. If I did I’d end up with such a headache from watching the old me do so many stupid things. I’d totally have to smack myself a couple of times. Live and learn though. XD

  6. dietbuddydaily

    This is an easy one. 17 years ago, my inlaws died and instead of selling their house, I wish my husband and I could have found a way to buy out his sister and keep it. It seems crazy to think about then, but we just could have rented it and looked forward to retirement in sunny CA! I know, things might not have worked out — crazy renters, a fire, who knows! But I do think this is the one thing I would change –but I feel so lucky — that is really all I can think of!!!! Great post!

  7. Jenera

    I think I would have changed how I let myself get to this point physically. But on the grand scale, I wouldn’t change much in my life because it all got me to where I am today. Even with my crazy time. I needed that to be the person I am now.

  8. Cammy@TippyToeDiet

    Fantastic! I went along this same thought path this morning! 🙂 Like so many others, I’m a believer in life being a sum of its parts. If I’d lost weight earlier, I’d never have met all of YOU! 🙂

    But that lottery thing sounds nice….

  9. Diane Fit to the Finish

    One thing I would change is just learning to enjoy all the years I’ve had on this earth instead of wishing I were something else. That’s been a hard thing to learn as I’ve traveled this journey.

    Wonderfully timely post!

  10. waistingtime

    Thanks for the comments and input all:)

  11. Teena in Toronto

    I’ve had three major weight losses. If I could change anything, it would be not gaining weight back (and more).

    Teena
    http://www.teenaintoronto.com

  12. Teena – I can so agree with that!

I love comments!

