When Scouting Goes Bad

For as long as I can remember, cute little Girl Scouts have come knocking on our door in the early winter, asking if we want to order cookies.  We always do since we are deep into our holiday sweets binge and weight gain and because, really, who can resist those little cuties.  (The girls and the cookies.)  But then the unimaginable happens – the cookies arrive in January, when we have forgotten about them and are well on our way into our New Year dieting.

What cruel trick of fate makes these irresistible, once-a-year-only goodies, show up when I am just building dieting momentum?  Thin Mints.  Samoas.  Ahhh.  So my options are to be good and not eat any, or be bad quickly and eat them all very fast.  There seems to be no in-between at our house with Girl Scout cookies… they will be gone in days.  My poor boys would eat them slowly and savor having them, but DH and I gobble them down as fast as you can say “We only have a Boy Scout in our house.”  I have been told you can freeze them for later consumption.  Ha ha.  Why freeze cookies when you can buy Edy’s ice cream with the cookies mixed in!  Double yum – ice cream and cookies.  I will be honest and admit that in previous years I have succumbed to the cookies every time.

This year is different.  I have not eaten even one cookie.  But don’t give me any credit for willpower – the girls in our neighborhood must have all outgrown scouting because we didn’t have a single one come knocking on our door.  So no January cookie delivery to tempt me.  Fate intercedes and helps me with my last-ever diet.  Now I just need to keep DH out of the ice cream aisle:)

15 Comments

Filed under dieting, food

15 responses to “When Scouting Goes Bad

  1. Debbie R.

    I didn’t buy cookies this year, either. Some of the girls are selling lots here by pledging to send your purchase to the troops overseas. That would work for me, give the girls a boost and never have to look at them.

    BTW, my DH is happily working his way through Dreyers NSA FF Fudge something or other. It’s pretty darn good, and I’m able to portion control.

    Thanks for so dilligently blogging!

  2. waistingtime

    We sent Boy Scout popcorn to the troops; had two nephews selling. But that holds no lure for me – popcorn gets caught in my gums:) Edy’s has a great lite mint chip… but I have no portion control with ice cream. SF fudgesicles for me.

  3. Sunny

    Odd, they are just now selling the cookies (by order, not the cookies here already)…now. AND there is a ‘lite’ cinnamon sugar cookie type that’s brand new. Yes, I’m getting two boxes. I STILL have a box, unopened, of Thin Mints in the freezer. A year old, frozen or not…I think I need to pitch those. 😉

  4. Cammy@TippyToeDiet

    LOL I finally quit ordering them a few years ago. They do freeze beautifully, but even frozen, they call out to me from their hiding place. 🙂

  5. Diane Fit to the Finish

    I don’t buy them anymore. I used to buy boxes and boxes but quit. I’d rather just give a donation to the Girl Scouts then have those extra calories sitting around!

  6. Jenn

    My mom always sends dH and I Thin Mints when hers get delivered. It’s like clockwork. I told her to keep them this year. Let me tell you, that was a hard sentence to get out, lol!

  7. laurajean64

    I caved. I bought 5 boxes this week and plan to immediately turn them over to my kids. 😦

  8. waistingtime

    I can’t tell you how many treats I have frozen in hopes I would not eat them… but then I just realized how many are actually better that way! Like frozen lemon bars and white chocolate chip brownies. Yum.

  9. beerab

    Girl Scouts are evil! I always say no- now I just say “oh honey I can’t eat sugar, sorry.”

    Though one smarty told me buy it for someone else! That brat! lol.

  10. Lucky you! I just got hit up yesterday. I bought my guys thin mints because I won’t eat them. I practically licked the picture of the tag-alongs though!

  11. Teena in Toronto

    I haven’t bought cookies in a couple years … if I buy ’em, I’ll eat ’em.

    Teena
    http://www.teenaintoronto.com

  12. waistingtime

    Now see what I mean… you gals are getting them now when you have the willpower to say no or buy what you won’t eat!

  13. A.

    Ha! Try being a leader and having TONS of them in your home waiting for the girls to come pick them up!

    I have actually been good, and even tough we ordered some (gotta help DD make her goal AND make money for our troop) I am such a good girl! They should give patches for us moms who buy but dont consume them…. hahaha!

  14. waistingtime

    Those patches sound like a great idea! I am lucky my boys sold non-edible items while scouting. We sure bought a lot of their trash bags!

  15. louisah

    I think they should give out sugar patches, like nicotine patches, for those of us who are trying not to succumb to the little temptresses wielding the evil cookies.

    Luckily, I was able to avoid all scouts and not have to have an argument with an 11-year-old…

I love comments!

