Old Habits Die Hard; New Habits Die Early

How long does it take to make or break a habit?  Experts seem split:  21 days, 30 days, or longer.  But since many products come with a 30-day money back guarantee, I’m going with that number!

Today marks 30 days for me on my last-ever diet and improved healthy lifestyle.  Thirty days of breaking old habits (like mindless eating while reading and eating junk-food).  Thirty days of instilling new habits (like blogging and increased time exercising).  Thirty days in which my new-found motivation won over my cravings and momentarily lapses of willpower.  Thirty days in which I may not yet have made a life change, but I can tell that I am well on my way.  Thirty days in which I felt happier with myself than I have in a long time.   A lot can happen in 30 days:)

If you are struggling with changing habits yourself… just think about having to commit only for the next 30 days.  Don’t think about longer or worry about a lifetime.  Just day-by-day for a month.  Add one new habit or choose one bad habit to quit.  And before you know it the month will be over.  At the end of the month, reflect on what you have accomplished.  Did your new habit become ingrained already, a temporary change that is on its way to permanency?  Or do you realize that it wasn’t as hard as you thought… so decide to keep at it for another 30 days, or longer.  Or maybe it was very challenging, but you see results and realize it was well worth the effort.  Did you discover that you picked a new habit that really doesn’t work for you?  Thirty days is long enough to have given it a fair shot to really know that.  Pick something else and make or break a new habit.  For 30 days.

Thirty days from now it will be the end of February.  Imagine where you can be by then!  Thinner?  Stronger?  Fitter?  Healthier?  In smaller clothes?  With lower cholesterol and blood pressure?  Able to lift heavier weights and do more push ups?  Less winded after walking upstairs?  And maybe that much closer to being the person you want to be and living the lifestyle you want to live.  Start now.  What have you got to lose?  Besides the bad habits:)

7 Comments

Filed under dieting, lifestyle, low-carb/South Beach, making a change

7 responses to “Old Habits Die Hard; New Habits Die Early

  1. Sunny

    Excellent post, and I’m soooooooooo proud of you!!! 😀

  2. I wholeheartedly agree! It’s easy to get overwhelmed if you look at the entire picture, especially if you have a lot of weight to lose which will take awhile. But just taking it one day at a time, one pound at a time, one workout at a time makes things much more manageable!

  3. laurajean64

    You are doing so well! Old habits die hard indeed, and they make a big noise when they hit the ground. 😀

  4. Cammy@TippyToeDiet

    Well done and well said! I made it through a 100 pound loss doing it step by step by step.

  5. Anonymous Fat Girl

    I’ve heard this before and I really believe it – that you can change your habits if you stick with a new one at least 30 days.

    In 30 days I want to be faster on the treadmill and much stronger. I want to see the flab under my arms diminish even more. I want to see a fitter and healthier me. 🙂

  6. waistingtime

    Thanks all. And I love your comment about noise, Laura.

I love comments!

