It's All Small Stuff

Yesterday was a bad day.  I woke up with a headache and it was all downhill from there.  I had not planned to write about it, but I woke up today in a funk again and wondered if my blog could work its magic and raise my spirits.

I should be happy and have nothing to complain about:  my family is healthy, we have no major problems – knock on wood  But for some reason the straws added up yesterday and the camel’s back just finally broke.  I should have known that my dieting/blogging euphoria couldn’t last forever:(

I started writing a list of all the things that are making me depressed and, sure enough, they sound so very insignificant.  Except for the melting snow leaking into the basement… which was probably my last straw yesterday.  I deleted the list.  Do I still feel depressed?  Yes?  Can I do something about any of the stuff stressing me out?  Maybe.

Years ago, thanks to my book club, I read Richard Carlson’s book “Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff… and it’s all small stuff.”  I realized that I am sooo not that person – I sweat every little thing.  I wish I didn’t.  But it seems as much a part of my nature as being shy and being pessimistic and being short:)  Carlson says, “Without question many of us have mastered the neurotic art of spending much of our lives worrying about a variety of things – all at once.  We allow past problems and future concerns to dominate our present moments, so much that we end up anxious, frustrated, depressed, and hopeless.”  That was me yesterday.  And seemingly again today.  I knew it was happening; I felt the avalanche building.  Fortunately I remained outwardly calm, and in the same breath as telling my DH about the basement water, I warned him that I was not having a good day.  In the next many breathes I went on and on about things that were bothering me, some that were certainly not new and different yesterday… but it was just all weighing on me all at once.

So I am going to move on.  I wrote about it.  I whined to my husband about it.  I am going to consciously think it out of my mind and try to find a happy place.  And I am going to focus on the positive fact that despite my disheartened emotions, I didn’t reach for food as my old pacifier.  Progress.  I’ll focus on that:)

9 Comments

Filed under blogging, emotions/emotional issues

9 responses to “It's All Small Stuff

  1. YAY for not using food as a comfort!

    i know what you mean when you think “How the heck can I be depressed?” I think our hormones might have a role to play in some of it, plus, as wimins, I think we are natural worriers. After all, who ELSE is gonna do it? 🙂

    Hope today is a better day for you!

  2. I also sweat the small stuff. Honestly that’s a big reason why I started running – it helped me not feel so stressed out, especially in situations that I couldn’t really do anything about. I figure it’s cheaper than therapy.. lol!

  3. Sunny

    When I was in therapy due to menopause/my divorce, my counselor told me something awe-inspiring, and it’s stuck with me ever since, and I want to pay it forward to you. She told me,

    “don’t ever worry about things that have happened in the past. No amount of worry can change them. The past is past. Worrying about the past only depresses you. Don’t worry about things that are in the future, because you can’t control everything in the future. Things happen or don’t happen, and much is out of control, so to worry about what might happen in the future (but often times WON’T) is a waste of time and causes unnecessary anxiety. ONLY focus on today. Because really? That’s all any of us have.”

    🙂

  4. waistingtime

    Thanks ladies – for the commiseration and wisdom:)

  5. laurajean64

    I hope you are feeling better today, and I’m glad you shared this with 3FC. I broke yesterday too. It’s something about this time of year – the rain, snow, clouds, cold. Yuk. Spring will be here soon!

  6. Sunny

    p.s. my blog post is viewable in the comments section; you just need to scroll above to see it. 🙂

  7. Diane Fit to the Finish

    I too worry with the small stuff and sometimes I have to tell myself, “Diane – what is the WORST thing that could happen.” And usually even that isn’t so bad to warrant my stress!

    Great job on making the list and really analyzing it!

  8. something about this time of year….the stretch between now and the first signs of spring…is depressing in itself. If you can…and I don’t know if you can, try taking a short walk outside. Being in the fresh air and outside light, might help. I need to practice what I preach. haha

  9. waistingtime

    Tomorrow is another day:)

I love comments!

