Where have you BEAN all my life?

I’m not fond of vegetables.  Given a choice, I usually would choose not to eat them.  I don’t mind them much in something – but I was never one to intentionally add them as a side dish.  But for the past year I have been making a concerted effort to up my veggie intake.

The South Beach Diet dictates eating 4.5 cups of vegetables a day.  I consider it an accomplishment to have one good-sized serving.  I’m proud of myself when I manage to have more.

I did make a pleasant discovery this summer – I like roasted fresh green beans.  Probably more than any other vegetable and certainly more than I expected.  And surprise, surprise… my husband likes them too.  Sometimes I am selfish about sharing too many with him because I can’t always find good, fresh beans and I know I would willingly eat them several days in a row.  (He, on the other hand, is not on a low-carb diet.)

Buoyed by my discovery, I took my newfound vegetable roasting skills a step further and added asparagus to my repertoire.  I don’t like it as much as the green beans but it is certainly more palatable to me prepared this way.  And my hubby will unenthusiastically partake, then proceed to entertain us all as he comments (every time) about how the asparagus will make his pee smell.  (Yes, he said it again last night – and yes, I warned him he was going to be in my blog.)

My next experiment was the roasted cauliflower “popcorn” I had read so much about.  Amazing – vegetables I would willingly eat for a snack.  (Maybe “willingly” is too strong a word here.  Let’s say I would concede to substitute them for a snack when I am watching carbs.)  Then I tried baked sweet potato fries.  Dangerously yummy.  Time to branch out beyond roasting.  I tried spaghetti squash.  Surprisingly good considering I still don’t like summer squash.  On to zucchini, another formerly hated squash… until I fried it as pancakes.  Perfect for a low-carb breakfast.  Who’d have thought?

So for those of you out there who also don’t like vegetables – take the advice of Sam-I-Am.  “You do not like them.  So you say.  Try them!  Try them!  And you may.”

12 Comments

Filed under dieting, food, low-carb/South Beach

12 responses to “Where have you BEAN all my life?

  1. Sunny

    Don’t ask me how, but I actually love to use celery as chips for any type of low-fat chip and dip now. (heck, even the non-low-fat dip splurges.) They give the crunch, and none of the calories or fat, and are great for the digestive system!

    And it’s just not a good day for me unless I’ve had a cup to 2 cups of broccoli slaw. I HATE broccoli, but somehow adore broccoli slaw. Go figure. LOL

  2. thinnerbyjuly2010

    MMMMMMM goood thing I just ate or I’d be drooling! I love all the veggies you mentioned! Have you ever made the green bean fries? They are amazingly yummy (but ugly)

  3. 299lbs

    All your green yumminess sounds amazing 😀 I can smell it from here.

    Really. I can.

  4. laurajean64

    You’ve inspired me to roast my veggies instead of fry. Thank you!

  5. waistingtime

    So now I need to know how to cook broccoli slaw.

    And can those green bean fries be kept or do they have to be eaten right away? I have to try that for sure!

    Laura – here’s added incentive – report back or post on you blog and let us know if you like them that way!

    Have a great, veggie-filled day, all:)

  6. Teena in Toronto

    I’m not a fan of veggies at all. So instead I have a shake of Greens Plus in the morning … it’s the nutritional equivalent of having five salads. It doesn’t taste great but it only takes a couple seconds to choke it back … and I’m done!

  7. Sunny

    I don’t COOK the broccoli slaw! I buy it in a bag! 😀

  8. waistingtime

    And eat it raw? You must put something on it. When I was growing up my mom served broccoli. I would only eat the stems and my brother only ate the tops!

  9. thinnerbyjuly2010

    The green bean fries pretty much need to be eaten right away. They are awesomew with salt and sf ketchup. So nice and crunchy!

  10. Pingback: Waisting Time , Archive » Oil Spill Hits my Kitchen

  11. I would love to try them but I am not too creative in the kitchen. How are you cooking them? Using butter or olive oil? I am definitely not a squash fan but I know it is good for me. If I could find a way to cook it I might like it and my kids may like it as well. It’s worth a shot.

I love comments!

