Resolve, or no resolve. That is question… again.

I don’t like New Year’s resolutions.  I don’t like making them.  I just discovered that I don’t like writing about them.  I don’t like the societal pressure to engage in them.  I don’t like that they lead to crowds at the gym.  I don’t like when people ask what mine are.  I really don’t like that I can never, ever KEEP them.

That said, let’s explore my clear emotional issues with such a simple and widely engaged in practice.

I would guess that every time I made New Year’s resolutions in the past, they were about losing weight.  Or eating healthy.  (Because really I’m not sure I’d eat healthy if I didn’t need to lose weight – but that’s a topic for another blog.)  For example, a few years ago I remember my husband and I resolved together to cut out “white” and refined carbs.  That didn’t last very long.

Now don’t get me wrong – I really agree with the general concept of making resolutions.  I looked up the definition just to be sure.  As a verb, to resolve is to come to a definite or earnest decision about something; to come to a determination.  As a noun, resolve is firmness of purpose or intent; determination.  Isn’t this really what I have been talking about since I started this blog?

That brings me back to asking myself why I am so resistant to give in to this time-honored tradition today.  I think it all stems back to the fact that I always failed to keep resolutions in the past and I’m afraid that I will fail again.  Could it be that simple?  Or do I really just not want to commit to certain things?  (Like trying yoga again, for example.)  Or am I just being contrary and rebelling against peer pressure?  And does it even matter?

So I resolve… not to set New Year’s resolutions.  But I AM going to admit, here in writing, that there are certain things I intend to change in the coming year and longer.  I won’t bore you with a list because if you have read my blog you already know some and will learn more in posts to come.

Instead, let me start the New Year by saying that I fully intend for 2010 to be a great year for me.  And I hope it is for all of you as well:)

4 Comments

Filed under emotions/emotional issues, goals

4 responses to “Resolve, or no resolve. That is question… again.

  1. ephemere

    You know, I hadn’t considered resolutions as a societal pressure…good thoughts!

    Good luck in 2010!

    ephemere @Uncoffining

  2. waistingtime

    Well I am also one of those people that thinks Valentine’s Day is an institution perpetuated by card and candy companies. And by more societal pressure. Call me Scrooge, I guess. BTW – loved your blog (as you’ll see by my long comment) and found it so strange to read someone else’s words in the same page design. Glad to meet you:)

  3. Heidi58

    I don’t do New Year’s Resolutions either. 🙂

    I take stock of my life and make adjustments as needed – I’ve never been able to muster up determination on some date someone else picks for me. lol

    Happy New Year!

  4. waistingtime

    I like your approach, Heidi. Now if only I could put it into practice instead of just thinking about it:)

I love comments!

