And so it begins…

Today I start a diet again. I am both a very successful and very unsuccessful dieter: I have lost the same weight over and over, never managing to keep it off. I intend for this to be the last time.

I decided to write a blog in hopes that I will inspire and motivate myself. If anyone reads my words and shares my journey (or their journey), all the better. And while I am typing I can’t be eating:)

I am a yo-yo dieter, having lost 10-20 pounds more times than I can count.  I know to some of you that may not sound like much – but on my small frame it is several inches and clothing sizes.  I am a consistent exerciser but just don’t seem able to maintain weight loss.  Is it simply a matter of willpower?  A former diet and exercise buddy shared the famous adage “nothing tastes as good as being thin feels.”  I agree – which is why I am always so disappointed in myself when I regain.

So beginning today I am trying again.  I know that I need to change my mindset – it is not a diet but a lifestyle.  Well, really it is a diet until I get to a weight that makes me happy… then it becomes about lifestyle.  And that is where I have failed in the past.

Looking back, it is obvious to me that I have never had a healthy relationship with food.  I hope to finally change that.  My goal this time, as always, is to lose pounds and inches – but also to truly transform my eating habits forever.  I know what I need to do – now I just need to do it.

5 Comments

Filed under blogging, dieting, goals, history (my past), making a change

5 responses to “And so it begins…

  1. debc

    Best of luck with your quest – I’m in a very similar position to you and, like you, trying to find a way of eating I can sustain for the rest of my life. No more silly diets and hopefully no more reckless overeating…..good luck to you in these first crucial days.

  2. jazzang

    You can do it!! Try not to think of it as a diet. Start your lifestyle change NOW, and then just continue to eat healthfully once you get to your optimum weight, but allow some of your favorites to come back in moderation!

  3. waistingtime

    Thank you! I actually feel stronger thanks to your support.

  4. 299lbs

    Good luck! You can do it 😀

    And yes, I’ve been thinking the same thing; first a diet, then a lifestyle.

  5. I’m looking forward to watching your progress. 🙂

    My experiences are similar to yours – I’m a great dieter, I honestly can’t say I’ve ever had trouble losing weight once I’ve made up my mind to do it. I’m a great dieter – but I’m a really lousy maintainer.

    This time is going to be different for me, too.

I love comments!

